by thefulltiltlife

tumblr_nylk0d74pF1shc1wyo1_1280

Mermaids Exist – Where I’m Going

Each morning is increasingly light. This morning the sky lit red through the east windows, and from childhood I never cease to think, “sailors take warning.” Some things we carry with us, I guess. Growing older seems a constant negotiation of what to keep and what to shed, like a traveller whose journey determines the load. Less is usually enough, I’ve learned.

It’s a small thing, certainly. But this week I am letting go of my to-do list, the one ever in flux and never quite complete. I sat with my grandma last night and watched the city below. Each topic we passed through came to a reminder to take the day as it comes. Often I’ve found planning well and ahead enables a life well-lived. Other times a day must simply be lived in, worn out and considered as it comes.

(Image via here)

