This is My Young Professional Life

by thefulltiltlife

maxresdefault

During university, my part-time job was cooking dinner for a family of four on weekdays. My roommate K would ask what I cooked that day, and at first I would answer with a shrug, and rhyme off the five or six things I had whipped up. After several weeks, K decided it was time for me to own it. “You are a twenty-year-old who just made a pot roast, garlic mashed potatoes, gravy, roasted veggies and a side salad in thirty minutes. That’s a big deal!” And so began a lifetime of me tooting my own horn, so to speak. She probably regrets saying anything.

It’s been a little over a year since I entered the workforce full time as a Corporate Events Coordinator, indefinitely (or at least until my contract closes next March). I daily wonder how we live like this, coming to an office every morning, living for casual Fridays, happy hour and those two weeks of vacation. But I truly enjoy my work; it’s one of those things that even when it’s bad, it’s still good. One year in, I’ve decided it’s time to start owning my young professional life, like a four-course meal on a regular Wednesday night. Every week or so, I want to share here some of the professionals and creatives I can’t get enough of, the mishaps and lessons I’ve been learning, and the kind of survival tips this young professional could stand to remember. Here’s hoping I won’t bore you all to tears with my endless office jokes.

(Image via here.)

