Soup Sunday, Pt. 2

by thefulltiltlife

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

 

I was raised in the kitchen, naturally. That’s where all the action was, and the thirty others in my mother’s family can attest that the basis of our relationships is good food. During university, I cooked dinners for a family on weekdays. During the interview process, I told them I am not professionally trained by any means, but was raised by three aunts and my own mother in the kitchen.

Last week was the third installment of Soup Sundays, although technically one was more cookie than soup. It was a no-brainer when one of my aunts offered to make our favourite Cheesy Chicken Chowder, a recipe that has been posted here before. It is easily one of my favourite things to cook, one thing I learned from my aunts.

 

////

 

Cheesy Chicken Chowder

1/4 cup butter or margarine
1 medium cooking onion
4 medium potatoes, peeled and diced
2 carrots, peeled and diced 2 celery stalks, chopped
4 cups (1 quart) chick stock or broth
Salt and pepper

1/4 cup butter, cubed
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
2 cups milk
2 cups (about 8 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese
2 cups diced cooked chicken

Melt butter in a stock pot (large enough for the soup) over medium heat, add onion and toss to coat with butter. Cover and let onions cook on low heat until translucent. Add potatoes, carrots and celery and mix to cover with butter. Cover and cook for 3-5 minutes. Add chicken stock, and a generous portion of salt and pepper. Cover and let simmer for approximately 30 minutes, or until vegetables are tender.

Meanwhile, melt butter in a medium saucepan; stir in flour until smooth. Gradually stir in milk. Bring to a boil over medium heat; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Reduce heat; add cheese, stirring until melted. Add broth to cheese mixture by the ladelful, stirring after each ladel. Cook and stir until heated through.

