by thefulltiltlife

8ee3415894f8b83d7d69d827add5bb10

Today, I will hold myself to a standard of grace, not perfection.

C.S. Lewis wrote about paying too much attention to the mortal things and not recognizing worth of immortals. I want to write a lengthy post about keeping life simple, about the essence of life found in relationship, and most especially in relationship with God. But this will only feed my dissatisfaction, because why can’t my heart get on board with my head on this one?

Instead, today will not be fed to discontentment, mortal or otherwise. Today I went to the market with Everett and Poppa. Today is for finding new music, dancing ditties and chopping vegetables in solitude. There are huge pots of cheesy pasta to be made and soup to be prepped for the week to come. There are letters to be written and a hockey game to catch and cousins who deserve my time. Today is not about what I don’t have.

(Image via here)

