How do you embrace change? (Pt. 4)

by thefulltiltlife

e62d6ae706f57e664b79b53f563d8874

 

Jared Kraul’s life is infectious, and change is a necessary, regular part of that. He is one of those all-in people, terribly smart and terribly hard not to like. 

 

Shad K- Remember to Remember

 

One of the key ways I embrace change is by remembering. The most significant changes in my life over the last few years have been a complete get up and move from one province of Canada to another, a complete overhaul of people and place. During these transitions I must remind myself that these new people matter too, this place matters to God and I matter to this place. I need to remind myself that it may take time to see that others care that I am there, but that time spent getting to know others and allowing myself to be known, is time well spent.

Just this past week I left my overly full apartment in Abbotsford, BC to go and dodge avalanches in Rogers Pass. I brought with me one of my roomates, whom I will refer to as Dirtbag Jesus, but otherwise it was with a group of nine guys that I had yet to know- let alone live with in an even more overly crowded Hostel in Revelstoke for six days. While I have spent some time climbing in the Revelstoke area- Waterworld is a climber’s dream come true- the backcountry skiing was a whole other level then what I was used to. Change of place, change of people.

The six hour drive to Revy was quiet and awkward. Each of us was more than willing to show we were interested in the skiing ahead and the Avalanche Safety Training we saw as a necessary step to all our dreams of fresh powder lines. But showing that we are interested about one another and building friendships seemed, at first, to be too much for this group of guys. The walls were up, we were here for a purpose-to ski- and we did not seem to be interested in much else. It happened slowly, but it did happen, as it always will I think, is what I needed to remember. Through many days spent under the warm sun, skinning, slipping, sweating and sliding up and down over a total of 4800 vertical meters in six days had the effect of breaking down those walls. Through a mix of shared struggle and success I was reminded of our shared humanity. What is really going to make this experience worth it, will be the relationships we come away with. Slowly, little by little, the places we have come from are revealed, shared passions of building character are discovered, interest in experiencing further trips together is expressed, and the inside jokes are made. The six hour drive home from Revy was quiet and yet comfortable.

