It’s All Splendour

by thefulltiltlife

f6bc235052cfbc3ddfbb3b08e9265d5e

James Vincent McMorrow – Glacier

This week kicked my ass. My mom poured me a coffee Friday morning and said, “I think you need to go to Niagara to let your friends take care of you”. And so I did, only to find it was true.

Here’s the thing: you don’t get to choose the shiny, happy times to be friends or even family. At some point, you decide to go all in for the relationship to have any depth or breadth. You do the work of the middle ground, the in-between times. You check in with them, show up in your pajamas, and bring donuts for no reason at all. And one day you realize that you’ve taken some of their struggles as your own, so that in their times of need you know just what to do and say. Somewhere along the line, you become someone who knows how to care. I think this is one of the most beautiful evolutions in life. Because once you do the work of the middle ground, even the bad times become sweeter. You’ll find that even in the struggle, crises and darkness, there’s nowhere you’d rather be.

(Image via here)

