by thefulltiltlife

tumblr_mw3o1lEfTr1rpowflo1_500

Bright Eyes – First Day of my Life

To my dear young travellers,

You already know how excited I am that you are in Guatemala, but let me tell you why again. When I took the same trip five years ago, I came more alive than I had felt in years. Guatemala is where I finally grew into my own skin, became more like myself than when I had left. Discomfort can do that. Maybe it was the whole “otherness” of the culture and community that sent me reeling and taught me a whole new way of life, a way that I still live by. I fell in love with the country and its people, something I didn’t know was possible. And in all its broken-heartedness I caught my first glimpse of the colourful ways of our God, who never seeks to steal hearts but instead seeks to heal them.

So let me be the first to tell you to lean your ear in close to the heartbeat of that nation. Make the most of every dinner with your host family, every Spanish lesson in the cool of the morning, every afternoon on the beach. Listen closely when people tell you of their country and their lives, because they matter deeply. And catch scent of what God is doing there, because I promise you there is a movement in Guatemala rumbling through God’s church, and I don’t want you to miss it. Serve well, treat each other well, pray at all times, suit up with the armour of Christ. You’re going to need it; this adventure is often uncomfortable. But it is very, very worth it.

Your’s truly.

(Image via here)

