Wine & Cheese

by thefulltiltlife

tumblr_mwa2etc19A1sf51reo1_1280

Sleeping at Last – The Christmas Song

I understand why you don’t want to leave university, I really do. Because in the seven months I’ve spent as a graduate, I’ve been told to lower my achievements. I’ve been told to “dumb it down”,  to use fewer complete sentences, because no one expects that much of me anyway. When did it become okay to routinely expect and accept less than people are capable of, less than excellence, less than a challenge? Education is a divider, typically. But I’m not asking to be set apart because of the letters behind my name; I’m asking to be considered as the intelligent, trained individual I’ve become. I’m asking for you to set the bar higher, because to some degree humans need expectations in order for us to perform better. I’m asking you to ask more of me, because I’m tired of settling.

(Image via here)

