Menus and Mondays

by thefulltiltlife

Brooke Fraser – Something In The Water

I’ve decided it’s time for another small treasure. However, I confess to never having made this myself, although I have high hopes for a Pot Luck Premiere of 2011. A friend in Grimsby was kind enough to share it, and the recipe.

Peanut Butter Caramel Sundae Sauce

1/4 cup unsalted butter
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup golden corn syrup
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup whipping cream
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter

In a saucepan, melt butter over medium-low heat. Stir in brown sugar, granulated sugar, corn syrup, 2 tablespoons water and salt. Cook, stirring, until thickened, about 5 minutes. Stir in cream, cook for 30 seconds and remove from heat. Stir in peanut butter, let cool. Serve warm or at room temperature.

My suggestions: ice cream or brownies (or both) would be perfect here. We had it served over triple chocolate cake and it was fantastic!

