3 Dates

by thefulltiltlife

The two hours spent in the car driving home with a friend of my Grandma’s were the sweetest I’ve spent in a while. Ever met someone and knew right away that you could be good friends? That’s what happened with B. There is a spark and a love in her that I want in me, and she has walked with the same Jesus I love for so many years. Hers has been a walk of pain, shame, sacrifice, and incredible, repeated redemption. It was hard to keep my eyes on the road; she had me laughing and completely captivated by the Jesus in her. I was humbled to hear that the turning points, the milestones in B’s life were marked by surrender. Literally kneeling on the ground and acknowledging that if she had nothing else, if the most important things in her life were taken away, and she was left with nothing but Jesus, she would be ok.

I sort of groaned when I came to this realization, because the story of Abraham and Isaac has been coming up a lot lately in my life. It’s the story of Abraham being ready to sacrifice his only son Isaac, and the Lord honors his being ready to give everything to God.

It sounded to me kind of like one of those repetetive Christian lessons I’ve heard one too many times. At least, at first. Now I can’t stop thinking about it.

